The President will appoint Ms Euleen Goh Yiu Kiang (吴幼娟) as a Member of the Public Service Commission (PSC) with effect from 1 April 2021, for a five-year term in the first instance.

Ms Goh, 65, is the non-executive Chairperson of SATS Ltd and is also the non-executive Director, Deputy Chair and Senior Independent Director of Royal Dutch Shell plc. She also currently serves as a non-executive Director of DBS Group Holdings & DBS Bank, and a non-executive board member of Singapore Health Services Pte Ltd. Ms Goh’s other appointments include Trustee of the Singapore Institute of International Affairs Endowment Fund and non-executive Chairman of Singapore Institute of Management Group Ltd.

A Chartered Accountant with professional qualifications in banking and taxation, Ms Goh has held various senior management positions in Standard Chartered Bank and was the Chief Executive Officer of Standard Chartered Bank, Singapore from 2001 to 2006, during which she drove the Bank’s corporate governance and strategic agenda in Singapore. Ms Goh has also held non-executive appointments on various boards including Aviva plc, MediaCorp Pte Ltd, Singapore Airlines Ltd, Singapore Exchange Ltd, CapitaLand Limited and Temasek Trustees Pte Ltd. She was previously the non-executive Chairperson of the Singapore International Foundation, Chairperson of International Enterprise Singapore and the Accounting Standards Council, Singapore.

Ms Goh was conferred the Public Service Medal (PBM) in 2005 and Public Service Star (BBM) in 2012.

On the new appointment, Chairman PSC Lee Tzu Yang said, “I warmly welcome Euleen to the Commission. Her extensive experience from executive and non-executive roles across various industries will complement the PSC in its efforts to strengthen diversity in talent attraction for the Public Service.” On her appointment, Ms Goh said: “The Commission has a crucial role in shaping and promoting the public service and its leadership and I am honoured to serve alongside the distinguished panel.”

The PSC also saw two other changes. Mr Philip Jeyaretnam, 57, has stepped down from the PSC after serving 11 years. Professor Tan Ser Kiat (陈思杰), 75, has retired after serving 8 years on the PSC.