2020 Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship Award Ceremony


  In commemoration of the significant contributions made by Singapore’s founding Prime Minister, the Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship was set up in 1991 by the Tanjong Pagar Citizens’ Consultative Committee. It is publicly funded and awarded to exceptional individuals who demonstrate a strong sense of commitment to serve Singapore and her citizens.

In 2020, two outstanding candidates have been awarded the Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship to support their pursuit of postgraduate studies. The awardees are:


S/N Name/Age  University/Course 

Ms Amy Tan Wei Leng



Age 47


Master’s in Public Health

Imperial College London

United Kingdom


Dr Desmond Mao Renhao



Age 38

Executive Masters of Business Administration

University of California, Los Angeles

United States

National University of Singapore



  Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship holders may choose to pursue their postgraduate studies in any country and field of study that best develops their potential as leaders. The scholarship holders are expected to contribute actively to better Singapore and her community.