• Public Service Commission


Applicants must:

  • Be a Singapore Citizen
  • Have strong leadership qualities and potential
  • Have good academic and Co-Curricular Activities (CCAs) records
  • Have a GCE A Levels, International Baccalaureate, Polytechnic or NUS High School diploma, or other high school diploma/certificate. You may apply prior to receiving your final examination results. Should you be found suitable for a scholarship, you may be made a provisional scholarship offer that is subject to confirmation upon the release of your results.


Scholarship Type : Undergraduate

Course Category : Engineering Read more

Course of Study : Naval Architecture, Mechanical Engineering, Computer Engineering Electronics Engineering, Civil and Structural Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Aeronautical Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Systems Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Engineering Science, Electrical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Materials Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Engineering Read more

Country/Region of Study : Countries/Regions approved by the agency Read more


Introduced in the 2017 scholarships exercise, the PSC Scholarship (Engineering) aims to develop individuals for leadership positions in the engineering and technology sectors in the Public Service. Scholarship holders will have opportunities to work in public agencies whose core business lies in engineering, where there is a need for leaders with engineering expertise. For more information, you may refer to the PSC Scholarship (Engineering) Brochure here

Scholarship holders will be assigned a parent agency in one of the following three engineering clusters, namely the (i) Defence and Security, (ii) Information and Communications Technology & Smart Systems, and (iii) Infrastructure & Environment. The list of courses relevant to each engineering cluster can be found here.

  1. The Defence and Security (D&S) cluster looks at the design, operation and maintenance of our national security infrastructure. An example of agencies under the D&S cluster is the Defence Science & Technology Agency (DSTA).

  2. The Information and Communications Technology & Smart Systems (ICT&SS) cluster looks at the design, operation and maintenance of IT platforms. It also covers the platforms and applications that will enable us to monitor, communicate with and control networks and infrastructure. An example of agencies under the ICT&SS cluster is the Government Technology Agency (GovTech).

  3. The Infrastructure and Environment (I&E) cluster looks at the design, building, maintenance and regulation of infrastructure such as transport infrastructure, utilities and other structures. Examples of agencies under the I&E cluster are Energy Market Authority (EMA), Housing and Development Board (HDB), Land Transport Authority (LTA), National Environment Agency (NEA) and Public Utilities Board (PUB). 

Scholarship holders will be offered developmental programmes from both the PSC and their engineering parent agency, including internship opportunities. They will also receive close mentorship, including guidance on their career development.

Career Progression:

Upon graduation, scholarship holders will be posted to their parent agency and they will deepen their technical expertise in their engineering cluster for up to 4 years. The type of engineering work will depend on the engineering cluster of the scholarship holder. They can then embark on another engineering-related posting in a different agency to deepen their engineering expertise and widen their experience. They will be placed on the Public Service Leadership Programme (PSLP) (General Phase - Engineering). 


  • Tuition fees and other approved charges
  • Maintenance and other allowances
  • Return airfare (if applicable)
  • Sponsorship of PSC development programmes, approved student exchange programmes, summer programmes and CCAs
  • Sponsorship of Master’s degree (if requirements are met)


Bachelor’s Degree


For undergraduate study in English-speaking countries: 6 years
For undergraduate study in non-English speaking countries: 5 years
For undergraduate study in Singapore: 4 years